Mozart and Sibelius

Bainbridge Symphony Orchestra presents
Mozart and Sibelius

Wesley Schulz, Conductor
Oksana Ejokina, piano

Performances: November 3 & 4, 2017
Friday @ 7:30 p.m. & Saturday @ 3:00 p.m. (pre-concert chat Saturday @ 2:15 p.m.) | Youth in Music Initiative: Please phone the BPA Box Office at 206.842.8569 to take advantage of this offer for youths, 18 and under.

Subscribe Today: Don't miss a minute of the BSO’s 2017 – 2018 season!

MAZZOLI: River Rouge Transfiguration
MOZART: Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, K. 491
SIBELIUS: En Saga, op. 9
SIBELIUS: Finale from Symphony No. 2 in D major

CATCH A PREVIEW: Listen to Classical KING FM 98.1 October 30 & 31 for a preview to the BSO’s upcoming concert! KING FM announcer Sean MacLean will feature music and concert information for Bainbridge Symphony Orchestra on the Classical KING FM 98.1 Northwest Focus program. Listen Monday, October 30 for Sibelius: En Saga at approximately 8:00 p.m., and listen Tuesday, October 31 at approximately 9:28 p.m. for Mozart: Piano Concerto No.24 in C minor, K.491.Tune in on the dial in Seattle at 98.1 or listen online at **Please note that the listed times are estimations; we recommend tuning in to 98.1 about 10 minutes early to make sure you don’t miss anything!

The first concerts of the BSO's 2017-2018 Season explore the music of Missy Mazzoli as well as Mozart and Sibelius. Mazzoli was inspired to write River Rouge Transfiguration after visiting the city of Detroit in 2010 and learning about the River Rouge Plant. Mazzoli writes:

“This image, of the River Rouge Plant as a massive pipe organ, was the initial inspiration for River Rouge Transfiguration. This is music about the transformation of grit and noise into something massive, resonant and unexpected. The “grit” is again and again folded into string and brass chorales that collide with each other, collapse, and rise over and over again.”

Oksana Ejokina, piano, will join the orchestra for a performance of Mozart’s brilliant Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor. On the second half of the program the orchestra enters the sonic world of Finnish composer, Jean Sibelius. En saga is one of his earliest tone poems and exhibits many hallmarks of his writing style, including growling brass and scurrying strings. The Finale of Sibelius’ Symphony No. 2 will bring the program to a majestic and exhilarating end.

Media Sponsor Classical KING FM 98.1
Carly's Rolling Bay Cafe
Wicklund Dental for "Youth in Music Initiative"



Mozart and Sibelius

Ticket Information

  • Adults - $21.00 USD
  • Seniors (65+), Students, Military & Teachers - $18.00 USD
  • Youth 18 and under - Free with paying adult - $0.00 USD

  • Buy Tickets